The International Association for
Dental Research

learn more

IADR ANZ Executive



Professor Linda Slack-Smith, PRESIDENT

BSc, GradDipMedTech MSc, PhD

Professor Linda Slack-Smith is a Professor in the Dental School at the University of Western Australia. Her research interests are in public health and epidemiology where she has primarily focused on child health, oral health and Indigenous health. With collaborators she has investigated dental service use in marginalized groups. Her PhD was in paediatric epidemiology. She is keen to support dental research in Australia and build capacity in that area.





Professor Boyen Huang, VICE PRESIDENT


Boyen Huang is currently Head of School of Dentistry and Health Sciences at Charles Sturt University. He was previously appointed at James Cook University (JCU) School of Medicine and Dentistry in January 2012. Before joining JCU, he held teaching and research posts at the University of Western Australia (2004-2009) and Kyoto University (2009-2011). He also acts as a domestic councillor to the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) (2006-2009, 2012-present) and the founder of the Far North Queensland Section of the IADR. In addition, he is a journal editor for Oral Health and Dental Management, a peer reviewer for several international scientific journals, and an assessor/panel member of grant proposals to the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC, Australia). Of further note, he has worked in private practice as a general and paediatric dentist (1996-2000, 2002-2003). His research career has focused on biological and behavioural risk factors for oral conditions. A special interest is on genetic variation as a risk factor for abnormality in dental and craniofacial morphogenesis, and, the role of behaviour in oral and maxillofacial trauma. He has made research collaborative bids with colleagues and institutions in Australia, Taiwan, UK, Japan, Thailand, Greece, Malaysia, Romania, South Africa and USA.




Professor Karl Lyons, SECRETARY

MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD

Karl Lyons is a Professor and Prosthodontist in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand where he has held a position since 1995. Karl is currently the Chair in Restorative Dentistry and Head of the Department of Oral Rehabilitation. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served on the IADR ANZ Council since 1998.  




Associate Professor Jason Armfield, TREASURER

BA(Hons), PhD

Dr Jason Armfield is a Senior Research Fellow at the Australian Research Centre for Population Oral Health in the School of Dentistry, University of Adelaide. His research interests focus on the application of the behavioural sciences to dentistry - in particular, oral health perceptions and behaviours, children's oral health, dental fear and anxiety, the effectiveness of and debate around water fluoridation, and oral health inequalities. He has published more than 60 scientific articles in dental, public health and psychology journals, presented at national and international conferences and been involved in successful competitive research grants amounting to over $2.5 million. He is currently the recipient of an NHMRC Career Development Award and is a 2nd Year Director (International) for the Behavioural, Epidemiological and Health Services Research (BEHSR) group of the IADR.





BDSc, MDSc (OralMed OralPath), PhD, GCEd (HE), GCExLead, FRACDS (OralMed), FIAOO, FOMAA, FICD, FPFA

Professor Farah is a specialist in Oral Medicine & Oral Pathology, Professor of Oral Oncology, Head of the School of Dentistry, and Director of the Oral Health Centre of WA at the University of Western Australia. He is also Director of the Australian Centre for Oral Oncology Research & Education where he undertakes research into head and neck cancer early detection, diagnosis and imaging. He has collaborations with clinicians, scientists and industry partners interested in Head & Neck cancer. He has published 120 clinical and scientific articles including 10 book chapters, and has attracted approximately $5 million in competitive research funding. He is currently Vice Chairman of the Australian Dental Research Foundation and Chairman of its Research Advisory Committee, Immediate Past President of the Oral Medicine Academy of Australasia, and Chairman of its Credentialiing & Peer Review Committee.



Part of the Division Council’s strategy for the future involves supporting the activities of its Sections.

Please contact your Section Councillor to get more involved in local IADR activities.

The Section Councillors are:


Dr Peter Zilm


Prof Laurence Walsh

Far North Queensland

Dr Anura Ariyawardana

Gold Coast

Professor Saso Ivanovski


Dr Felicity Crombie

New ZealandProfessor Richard


Dr Leenu Maimanuku


A/Prof Robert Anthonappa


Dr Christina Adler

Western NSW

Dr Nur Hassan