The International Association for
Dental Research

learn more

IADR ANZ Executive

 

 

Professor Boyen Huang, PRESIDENT

DDS, MHA, PhD

Boyen Huang is currently Head of School of Dentistry and Health Sciences at Charles Sturt University. He was previously appointed at James Cook University (JCU) School of Medicine and Dentistry in January 2012. Before joining JCU, he held teaching and research posts at the University of Western Australia (2004-2009) and Kyoto University (2009-2011). He also acts as a domestic councillor to the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) (2006-2009, 2012-present) and the founder of the Far North Queensland Section of the IADR. In addition, he is a journal editor for Oral Health and Dental Management, a peer reviewer for several international scientific journals, and an assessor/panel member of grant proposals to the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC, Australia). Of further note, he has worked in private practice as a general and paediatric dentist (1996-2000, 2002-2003). His research career has focused on biological and behavioural risk factors for oral conditions. A special interest is on genetic variation as a risk factor for abnormality in dental and craniofacial morphogenesis, and, the role of behaviour in oral and maxillofacial trauma. He has made research collaborative bids with colleagues and institutions in Australia, Taiwan, UK, Japan, Thailand, Greece, Malaysia, Romania, South Africa and USA.

Email: bhuang@csu.edu.au

 

 

Professor Karl Lyons, VICE PRESIDENT

MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD, FPFA

Karl Lyons is a Professor and Prosthodontist in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand where he has held a position since 1995. Karl is currently the Chair in Restorative Dentistry and Head of the Department of Oral Rehabilitation. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served on the IADR ANZ Council since 1998.  

Email: karl.lyons@otago.ac.nz

 

 

Dr Sarbin Ranjitkar, TREASURER

BDS, BScDent (Hons), PhD

Sarbin Ranjitkar is a senior lecturer in dental materials in the Adelaide Dental School, University of Adelaide and maintains a part-time clinical practice. He teaches adhesive materials, biology of occlusion and head and neck anatomy in the undergraduate dental program and supervises research projects at postgraduate level. He is involved with structural, mechanical and chemical characterisation of bioceramic materials (including enamel, dentine and bone), with implications in the fields of dental erosion and craniosynostosis. Sarbin has been involved with the IADR since 1998 when he joined as an undergraduate student.

Email:  sarbin.ranjitkar@adelaide.edu.au

 

 

 

Professor David Manton, SECRETARY

BDSc, MDSc, PhD, FRACDS, FICD, FADI, FPFA

David has spent 30 years in private practice and academia, and is currently the Elsdon Storey Chair of Child Dental Health and a visiting consultant at RCH. He is involved in several collaborative and postgraduate research projects in both paediatric dentistry and orthodontics. He was dental advisor to the Federal Government from 1994 – 1996 and won the KG Sutherland Prize of the RACDS in 2007. He is on the editorial boards of the European Archives on Paediatric Dentistry and the International Journal of Paediatric Dentistry, and the advisory panel (board) of the European Caries Research Association (ORCA).

Over the past 15 years David has spoken throughout Australia, Asia and Europe and has wide ranging experience in laboratory and clinical trials of CPP-ACP, Minimum Intervention Dentistry, the detection of carious lesions, developmental defects of enamel and the use of calcium silicates in endodontics. He has published more than 80 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals and has been cited more than 2000 times. 

Email:  djmanton@unimelb.edu.au

Sections

Part of the Division Council’s strategy for the future involves supporting the activities of its Sections.

Please contact your Section Councillor to get more involved in local IADR activities.

The Section Councillors are:

Adelaide

Dr Peter Zilm

peter.zilm@adelaide.edu.au

Brisbane

Prof Laurence Walsh

l.walsh@uq.edu.au

Far North Queensland

Dr Anura Ariyawardana

anura.ariyawardana@jcu.edu.au

Gold Coast

Assoc Prof Raj Nair

r.nair@griffith.edu.au

Melbourne

Dr Felicity Crombie

fcrombie@unimelb.edu.au

New ZealandProfessor Richard Cannon

richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz

Oceania

Dr Leenu Maimanuku

leenu.maimanuku@fnu.ac.fj

Perth

A/Prof Robert Anthonappa

robert.anthonappa@uwa.edu.au

Sydney

Dr Rahena Akhter

rahena.akhter@sydney.edu.au

Western NSW

Dr Nur Hassan

nhassan@csu.edu.au