The International Association for
Dental Research

learn more

IADR ANZ Executive

Professor Boyen Huang

Professor Boyen Huang

President

DDS, MHA, PhD

Boyen Huang is currently Head of School of Dentistry and Health Sciences at Charles Sturt University. He was previously appointed at James Cook University (JCU) School of Medicine and Dentistry in January 2012. Before joining JCU, he held teaching and research posts at the University of Western Australia (2004-2009) and Kyoto University (2009-2011). He also acts as a domestic councillor to the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) (2006-2009, 2012-present) and the founder of the Far North Queensland Section of the IADR. In addition, he is a journal editor for Oral Health and Dental Management, a peer reviewer for several international scientific journals, and an assessor/panel member of grant proposals to the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC, Australia). Of further note, he has worked in private practice as a general and paediatric dentist (1996-2000, 2002-2003). His research career has focused on biological and behavioural risk factors for oral conditions. A special interest is on genetic variation as a risk factor for abnormality in dental and craniofacial morphogenesis, and, the role of behaviour in oral and maxillofacial trauma. He has made research collaborative bids with colleagues and institutions in Australia, Taiwan, UK, Japan, Thailand, Greece, Malaysia, Romania, South Africa and USA.

Email: bhuang@csu.edu.au

Professor Karl Lyons

Professor Karl Lyons

Vice President

MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD, FPFA

Karl Lyons is a Professor and Prosthodontist in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand where he has held a position since 1995. Karl is currently the Chair in Restorative Dentistry and Head of the Department of Oral Rehabilitation. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served on the IADR ANZ Council since 1998.

Email: karl.lyons@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sarbin Ranjitkar

Dr Sarbin Ranjitkar

Treasurer

BDS, BScDent (Hons), PhD

Sarbin Ranjitkar is a senior lecturer in dental materials in the Adelaide Dental School, University of Adelaide and maintains a part-time clinical practice. He teaches adhesive materials, biology of occlusion and head and neck anatomy in the undergraduate dental program and supervises research projects at postgraduate level. He is involved with structural, mechanical and chemical characterisation of bioceramic materials (including enamel, dentine and bone), with implications in the fields of dental erosion and craniosynostosis. Sarbin has been involved with the IADR since 1998 when he joined as an undergraduate student.

Email:  sarbin.ranjitkar@adelaide.edu.au

Dr Nur Mohammad Monsur Hassan

Dr Nur Mohammad Monsur Hassan

Secretary

BDS PGT PhD

Hassan graduated with a Bachelor of Dental Science (BDS) in 2000 and received advanced oral surgery training (PGT) from 2001- 2002. Hassan completed a PhD in Geriatric Dentistry at the School of Dental Medicine, Hokkaido University,  Japan in 2007, then was granted a postdoctoral award from the “Center for Excellence” Japan from 2007-2008 for ongoing work on the cancer related gene in the Institute of Genetic Medicine, Hokkaido Japan. Following this, Hassan was granted a prestigious postdoctoral award from the “Japan Society for the Promotion of Sciences” and worked in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Biopathology, Okayama University, Japan from 2008-2010, and then worked as a post-doctoral research officer in the Department of Dermatology, RPAH,  University of Sydney from 2011-2013. Hassan is currently a Lecturer in the Faculty of Science, School of Dentistry and Health Science, Charles Sturt University where he has been since March 2013.

He acts as an active member to the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) (2004-present) and domestic Councillor  from 2015-2018.

Hassan has been awarded several international awards and  regional awards within Japan, and has published many international peer reviewed  journals  and  book chapter in  cancer research. His main  research interest in Cancer, Oral health, epidemiology. He is also editorial board member  and a peer reviewer for several international scientific journals. Since 2004, he has  been successfully “collaborating internationally” in several research projects with several countries (e.g. Australia, Japan and Bangladesh etc.

 

Email:  nhassan@csu.edu.au

 Sections

Part of the Division Council’s strategy for the future involves supporting the activities of its Sections.

Please contact your Section Councillor to get more involved in local IADR activities.

The Section Councillors are:

Adelaide Dr Peter Zilm peter.zilm@adelaide.edu.au
Brisbane Professor Laurence Walsh l.walsh@uq.edu.au
Far North Queensland Dr Anura Ariyawardana anura.ariyawardana@jcu.edu.au
Gold Coast Associate Professor Raj Nair r.nair@griffith.edu.au
Melbourne Dr Felicity Crombie fcrombie@unimelb.edu.au
New Zealand Professor Richard Cannon richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz
Oceania Dr Leenu Maimanuku leenu.maimanuku@fnu.ac.fj
Perth Associate Professor Robert Anthonappa robert.anthonappa@uwa.edu.au
Sydney Dr Rahena Akhter rahena.akhter@sydney.edu.au
Western NSW Dr Erica Yates eyates@csu.edu.au