The International Association for
Dental Research

learn more

IADR ANZ Executive

Professor Sašo Ivanovski

Professor Sašo Ivanovski

President

BDSc (Hons), BDentSt, MDSc, PhD, FICD, FADI

Sašo Ivanovski is Head of the School of Dentistry at the University of Queensland in Queensland, Australia and Professor of Periodontology. He combines this position with a part time specialist practice in periodontics and surgical implant dentistry.  Sašo has published over 180 papers in the peer-reviewed literature and leads an internationally recognized research group with an interest in regenerative dentistry, biomaterials and tissue engineering, as well as clinical periodontics and implant dentistry. Sašo has been an IADR member since the early 1990s. He established and was the inaugural councilor of the Gold Coast Section within IADR (ANZ) in 2014. He was the scientific chair of the IADR (Asia-Pacific Region) meeting in November 2019.

Email: s.ivanovski@uq.edu.au

Professor Paul Cooper

Professor Paul Cooper

Vice President

BSc (Hons), PhD

Paul Cooper is Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago in New Zealand. Paul was appointed the John Arnaud Bell Professor of Oral Biology in 2019 at the University of Otago and previously, he worked at the School of Dentistry, University of Birmingham, UK (2000-2019), where he was the Director of Research and Deputy Head of School. Paul has published over 180 full peer-reviewed papers in several areas of dental research with particular interest in pulp biology. In 2010, Paul was awarded the IADR Distinguished Scientist Young Investigator Award. He is currently the President of the Pulp Biology and Regeneration Group of IADR and has also served as the Mineralized Tissue Group (MINTIG) Chair for the British Society for Oral and Dental Research (BSODR) and as a counselor on the BSODR Management Committee.

Email: p.cooper@otago.ac.nz

 

Dr Samuel Bennett

Treasurer

Associate Professor May Lei Mei

Associate Professor May Lei Mei

Secretary

BDS MDS PhD

Dr. Mei is currently an Associate Professor in Cariology in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, New Zealand where she leads undergraduate teaching in both cariology and restorative dentistry. Dr Mei’s research focuses on cariology, in particular on the effect of silver diamine fluoride on mineralized tissue, collagen and biofilms, and on the development of novel bioactive materials for caries management. Dr Mei is an active member of the IADR and she has received a number of IADR awards, including the IADR-ANZ Oral Biology Award , an IADR Centennial Emerging Leaders Award, and the IADR Basil G. Bibby Young Investigator Award. Dr Mei has served on the Cariology Research Group of IADR as an officer (2016-2017), and is currently the President-elect of the Cariology Research Group IADR.

 

Email: may.mei@otago.ac.nz

Professor Karl Lyons

Professor Karl Lyons

Immediate Past President

BDS, MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD, FPFA

Karl Lyons is Deputy Dean (Clinical) in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand and Chair in Restorative Dentistry at Otago where he has held a position since 1995. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served IADR ANZ in various roles since 1998.

Email: karl.lyons@otago.ac.nz

 

 

 Section Councillors

Part of the Division Council’s strategy for the future involves supporting the activities of its Sections.

Please contact your Section Councillor to get more involved in local IADR activities.

The Section Councillors are:

Adelaide Dr Peter Zilm peter.zilm@adelaide.edu.au
Brisbane Dr Sobia Zafar s.zafar@uq.edu.au
Far North Queensland Dr Dileep Sharma dileep.sharma@jcu.edu.au
Gold Coast Professor Marcelo Figueredo @griffith.edu.au
Melbourne Professor Stuart Dashper stuartgd@unimelb.edu.au
New Zealand Professor Richard Cannon richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz
Oceania Dr Anumala Ram Anumala.Ram@fnu.ac.fj
Perth Associate Professor Robert Anthonappa robert.anthonappa@uwa.edu.au
Regional Victoria Dr Colleen McCarthy justcanda@gmail.com
Southern Metropolitan Victoria Dr Ramini Shankumar Ramini.Shankumar@monashhealth.org
Sydney Dr Rahena Akhter rahena.akhter@sydney.edu.au
Western NSW Dr Erica Yates eyates@csu.edu.au