The International Association for
Dental Research

learn more

IADR ANZ Executive

Professor Karl Lyons

Professor Karl Lyons

President

BDS, MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD, FPFA

Karl Lyons is a Professor and Prosthodontist in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand where he has held a position since 1995. Karl is currently the Chair in Restorative Dentistry. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served on the IADR ANZ Council since 1998.

Email: karl.lyons@otago.ac.nz

Professor Sašo Ivanovski

Professor Sašo Ivanovski

Vice President

BDSc (Hons), BDentSt, MDSc, PhD, FICD, FADI

Sašo Ivanovski is the Professor of Periodontology and Director of Research at the University of Queensland School of Dentistry, where he leads the specialist training program in periodontics. He combines this position with a part time specialist practice in periodontics and surgical implant dentistry.  Sašo has published over 170 papers in the peer-reviewed literature and leads an internationally recognized research group with an interest in regenerative dentistry, biomaterials and tissue engineering, as well as clinical periodontics and implant dentistry. Sašo has been an IADR member since the early 1990’s. He established and was the inaugural councilor of the Gold Coast Section within IADR (ANZ) in 2014. He was the scientific chair of the IADR (Asia-Pacific Region) meeting in November 2019.

Email: s.ivanovski@uq.edu.au

 

Dr Sarbin Ranjitkar

Dr Sarbin Ranjitkar

Treasurer

BDS, BScDent (Hons), PhD

Sarbin Ranjitkar is a senior lecturer in dental materials in the Adelaide Dental School, University of Adelaide and maintains a part-time clinical practice. He teaches adhesive materials, biology of occlusion and head and neck anatomy in the undergraduate dental program and supervises research projects at postgraduate level. He is involved with structural, mechanical and chemical characterisation of bioceramic materials (including enamel, dentine and bone), with implications in the fields of dental erosion and craniosynostosis. Sarbin has been involved with the IADR since 1998 when he joined as an undergraduate student.

Email: sarbin.ranjitkar@adelaide.edu.au

Dr Ryan Lee

Dr Ryan Lee

Secretary

BMedSci, BDent, MClinDent, CertPerio

Ryan Lee is currently a Senior Lecturer in Periodontology at the University of Queensland, School of Dentistry where he teaches at the undergraduate level as well as in the postgraduate specialist training program in periodontology. Ryan is also a part-time PhD candidate at Griffith University, Gold Coast, researching the effects of different implant surface characteristics on osseous healing and early inflammation in diabetic conditions. Ryan currently combines an academic position with  part-time specialist practice in periodontology and implant dentistry. He has published in peer-reviewed international journals, and regularly lectures nationally & internationally. Ryan has been a member of the International Association for Dental Research since 2012.

 

Email: r.sblee@uq.edu.au

Professor Boyen Huang

Professor Boyen Huang

Immediate Past President

DDS, MHA, PhD ADC Cert.

Boyen Huang has held executive, teaching and research posts at Charles Sturt University (Head of School, 2015-2019), James Cook University (2012-2015), Kyoto University (2009-2011) and the University of Western Australia (2004-2009). He has mentored early career academics and postdoctoral researchers and regularly supervised PhD, MPhil, Honours and undergraduate research projects in addition to examining theses and dissertations. He has also been appointed as a Committee Member of the New South Wales State Ministry of Health Oral Health Research Committee, a Grant Review Panel Member and an Expert Peer Reviewer for the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), and a Reviewer for Australian Dental Research Foundation Grants and New South Wales State Medical Devices Fund. His research career has focused on biological and behavioural risk factors for oral conditions such as dental and craniofacial anomalies, and traumatic dental injuries, with recent interest in non-nutritive sucking behaviour and telehealth. He has made research collaborative bids with colleagues and institutions in Australia, Greece, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Romania, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, UK and USA.

Email: boyen.huang@gmail.com

 Sections

Part of the Division Council’s strategy for the future involves supporting the activities of its Sections.

Please contact your Section Councillor to get more involved in local IADR activities.

The Section Councillors are:

Adelaide Dr Peter Zilm peter.zilm@adelaide.edu.au
Brisbane Professor Laurence Walsh l.walsh@uq.edu.au
Far North Queensland Dr Dileep Sharma dileep.sharma@jcu.edu.au
Gold Coast Associate Professor Raj Nair  r.nair@griffith.edu.au
Melbourne Dr Felicity Crombie fcrombie@unimelb.edu.au
New Zealand Professor Richard Cannon richard.cannon@otago.ac.nz
Oceania Dr Leenu Maimanuku leenu.maimanuku@fnu.ac.fj
Perth Associate Professor Robert Anthonappa robert.anthonappa@uwa.edu.au
Regional Victoria Dr Colleen McCarthy C.McCarthy@latrobe.edu.au
Southern Metropolitan Victoria Dr Ramini Shankumar Ramini.Shankumar@monashhealth.org
Sydney Dr Rahena Akhter rahena.akhter@sydney.edu.au
Western NSW Dr Erica Yates eyates@csu.edu.au